Don’t you want gravy with that?

Once (in a previous work life), I was on a business trip to India for three weeks.  As one does on a business trip, I got very tired of the room service food. I love Indian food, but the same thing every day for three weeks was too much of a good thing.  All of the food was soupy..  Every dish had a sauce and all of the ingredients were cooked to mush.  It was tasty.  But eventually the consistency was too much of a sameness.  One night I ordered the only things on the menu that did not come with sauce.  I ordered two or three dishes that didn’t come with sauce.  The room service operator was stunned.  “You didn’t order gravy.  Don’t you want gravy?”  No. I don’t want gravy.

The same thing happened today at the Bicycle Café (officially known as Warehouse 185).  The rooftop garden at this café is my favorite place in Taichung. The weather was beautiful today – fluffy clouds and blue sky.  We told the cashier that we would be on the roof.  “But the air conditioning isn’t on inside on that floor.”  Uh. yeah.  That’s why we will be outside.

We had a lovely meal.

019

1 thought on “Don’t you want gravy with that?

Leave a comment